05-19-21 | Association News

LAF Announces 2021 Olmsted Scholars

Association Awards Two Winners and Six Finalists

The Landscape Architecture Foundation "works to increase the capacity, influence, and impact of landscape architects to create a more sustainable, just, and resilient future."

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) announced the graduate and undergraduate winners and finalists for their 2021 Olmstead Scholars Program, the 14th year the program has been running. The two scholarship awardees are Harshat Verma, graduate, Ohio State University and Abigail Long, undergraduate, Temple University.

Herma is a master's student at Ohio State and received $25,000 from LAF in recognition of his efforts as a student and his work with a socially-drive architecture firm in Mumbai. Additionally, Herma is currently working towards developing the concept of a multi-player game which simulates climate change in urban ecosystems.

Long is an undergraduate student at the University of Temple and the recipient of a $15,000 scholarship from LAF. She is working to use her education to build accessible outdoor classroom design models that will create healthy and thriving outdoor spaces for children.

In additional to the graduate and undergraduate 2021 LAF Olmsted Scholars, the organization also recognized six National Olmsted Scholar Finalists. The three graduate finalists are Taylor Davis, University of Austin Texas; Leah Kahler, University of Virginia; and Jared Edgar McKnight, University of Southern California, they each received $5,000. The three undergraduate students are Tracie Chazares, Cal Poly Pomona; Madison Hutchings, Virginia Tech; and Barbara Kornak, Cornell University, they each received $3,000.


Sign up for
LAWeekly newsletter. Get exclusive content today.