03-08-21 | Education

2021-2022 LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership

LAF Fellows and Olmsted Scholars

LAF's Fellowship goals are to develop and test new ideas in support of a healthier, more equitable, and sustainable world.

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) has announced their selection of four Fellows and two Olmsted Scholars as the 2021-2022 participants of the LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership program. LAF Fellows will receive a $25,000 financial award to support 12 weeks of research and development of a proposed project of their choice. LAF Olmsted Scholars are awarded $5,000 towards preparing for future fellowship, partnership, or funding opportunities on their proposed ideas and projects. Each chosen participant will present their completed work in the spring of 2022. This is the fifth year of the program and according to the foundation, will develop leadership capacity and advance ideas that have the potential to create positive and profound change in the profession, the environment, and humanity.

Linda Chamarro
A Call to Connect Latinx Designers and Collaborators to Amplify Their Voices Across the Americas

Deb Guenther

Return to Community: Building Practice and Advocacy for Community Wealth Building

James A. LaGro Jr.
Advancing the Science of Landscape Architecture

N. Claire Napawan
Diversity by Design: Addressing Diversity and Inclusion in Landscape Architecture Curriculum and Pedagogy

Olivia Bussey (2019 Olmsted Scholar)
Cyclical Arrest: Breaking the Cycle of Recidivism

Ellen White (2016 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist)
Roadsides, the Public Good, and the Nature of Power in Landscape Architecture

To learn about the 2021-2022 Fellows and projects:


Sign up for
LAWeekly newsletter. Get exclusive content today.