03-17-20 | News

2019 Brick in Architecture Awards

Honoring Dynamic Design

projects that won Best in Class in BIA's 2019 competition. (Photo: McCLAIN+YU Architecture & Design & Blake Marvin)

The Brick Industry Association has awarded the 2019 Brick in Architecture Awards, celebrating 30 years as the nation's premier design contest featuring clay brick.

Out of more than 120 entries this year, 37 winners were honored for Best in Class, Gold, Silver and Bronze including projects in Australia and Canada.

"These architects maximize brick's virtually unlimited aesthetic freedom and its integral role in sustainable design," said Ray Leonhard, BIA's president, CEO and CFO.

The Paving and Landscaping award went to McCLAIN+YU Architecture & Design, MRWM Landscape Architects and SurfaceDesign Inc. for their work on the Smith Plaza at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque.

All winning projects may be viewed in BIA's Photo Gallery.

Sign up for
LAWeekly newsletter. Get exclusive content today.