11-23-20 | Association News

AASHTO Appoints New Leadership

Association Elects President and Vice President

AASHTO works to educate the public and key decision makers about the critical role transportation plays in securing a good quality of life and sound economy for our nation.

On November 13, it was announced that the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) elected a new president and vice president in Victoria Sheehan and Dr. Sean Wilson respectively. Sheehan, the commissioner of the New Hampshire Department of Transportation, is the second woman to be elected as president of AASHTO. She has served as the commission in New Hampshire since 2015 in which she oversaw the $650 million agency that helped create safe and efficient transportation systems over those years.


In commenting on her election, Sheehan expressed excitement in this opportunity in saying, "I am honored to be elected to lead this outstanding organization during an extraordinary time in our history. The COVID-19 pandemic, natural disasters, as well social unrest in support of racial equality and inclusion are challenging us in many ways. As transportation leaders, we have a role to play and one of my presidential emphasis areas focuses on the need for training, recruiting, and building a diverse state DOT workforce that reflects all of the people we serve."

Additionally, Shawn Wilson was elected as AASHTO's vice president. Wilson has served as Louisiana Department of Transportation's secretary since 2016 and has accumulated over ten years of transportation management experience within that organization.


Sign up for
LAWeekly newsletter. Get exclusive content today.