ASLA Announces 2024 Class of Fellows05-29-24 | Association News

ASLA Announces 2024 Class of Fellows

40 Individuals Represent 25 ASLA Chapters
by Staff

The ASLA has announced this year's Council of Fellows, which includes 40 individuals who have shown exceptional leadership, knowledge, and service over their careers.

The ASLA recently released the names of 40 Landscape Architects who have been chosen to be part of the 2024 Council of Fellows. This year's group boasts 23 women and 17 men who represent 10 states, Washington, D.C., and Canada. California is home to the most Fellows with a total of 5, followed by a four-way tie between Texas, Massachusetts, New York, and Washington, D.C. with 3 Fellows each. This year's Council of Fellows will be officially elevated at a special ceremony during the ASLA's 2024 Conference on Landscape Architecture that will take place in Washington, D.C. from October 6-9.
The Council of Fellows is one of the highest honors an ASLA member can receive, as this distinction is reserved only for those who have shown exceptional leadership, knowledge, and service across their career. According to the ASLA Council of Fellows webpage, 1,428 Fellows have been elected since 1899, more than 700 of whom are still active or hold emeritus status. Those nominated to the Council must be full ASLA members in good standing for a minimum of 10 years who are recommended by the Executive Committees of either their local chapter, the ASLA, or the Council of Fellows.
Here is the full list of the 2024 Council of Fellows by state:

Jane Reed Ross, ASLA, Goodwyn Mills Cawood, Birmingham, AL

Karen Cesare, ASLA, Novak Environmental, Tucson
Michele Shelor, ASLA, Colwell Shelor Landscape Architecture, Phoenix

Patricia Algara, ASLA, BASE Landscape Architecture, San Francisco
David Fletcher, ASLA, Fletcher Studio, San Francisco
Pamela Galera, ASLA, City of Riverside, CA
Joni Janecki, ASLA, Joni L. Janecki & Associates, Santa Cruz, CA
Patsy Eubanks Owens, ASLA, University of California, Davis

Laurel Raines, ASLA, Dig Studio, Denver

Jules Bruck, ASLA, University of Florida, Gainesville
Leo Urban, ASLA, Urban Associates, Delray Beach, FL

Judith Stilgenbauer, ASLA, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Manoa

Bradley McCauley, ASLA, site design group, Chicago

Chris Della Vedova, ASLA, Confluence, Des Moines, IA

Lisa Cowan, ASLA, StudioVerde, Cumberland, ME

Christopher Schein, ASLA, Hord Coplan Macht, Baltimore
Grace Fielder, ASLA, G.E. Fielder & Associates, Laurel, MD

Anita Berrizbeitia, ASLA, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
Glen Valentine, ASLA, Stimson, Cambridge, MA
Cody Klein, ASLA, OJB Landscape Architecture, Boston

Cory Gallo, ASLA, Mississippi State University, Starkville

Scott Emmelkamp, ASLA, Planning Design Studio, St. Louis
Jerany Jackson, ASLA, Great River Engineering, Springfield, MO

New Mexico
Faith Okuma, ASLA, Surroundings Studio, Santa Fe

New York
Molly Bourne, ASLA, MNLA, New York City
Adriaan Geuze, ASLA, West 8, Rotterdam
Dale Schafer, ASLA, Wagner Hodgson Landscape Architecture, Hudson, NY

North Carolina
Charles Grant Meacci, ASLA, Bolton & Menk, Charlotte, NC

Jean Senechal Biggs, ASLA, City of Beaverton, OR

Cleve Larry Mizell, ASLA, Lebanon, TN
Kim Hartley Hawkins, ASLA, Hawkins Partners, Nashville

Michael Murphy, ASLA, Texas A&M University, College Station
J. Rebecca Leonard, ASLA, Lionheart Places, Austin
Aan Garrett-Coleman, ASLA, Coleman & Associates, Austin

Lynn Crump, ASLA, Scenic Virginia, Richmond, VA
Paul Kelsch, ASLA, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA

Washington D.C.
Matthew Arnn, ASLA, U.S. Forest Service, Washington, DC
Claire Bedat, ASLA, U.S. Department of State, Washington, DC
Joseph Imamura, ASLA, Architect of the Capitol, Washington, DC

Catherine Berris, ASLA, Urban Systems, Vancouver, BC

For more information on the Council of Fellows or to see the bios of each individual, go to: